7 Simple Questions to Begin a Small Group (with free download)

As we began our yearly preparations for small group to begin about a year ago, I began to feel bad about how many times I had to e-mail our leaders for their group info. It felt like I was bugging our leaders- which I never want to do.Simpsons blinds Finally, I decided to sit down and figure out all the info I needed so I could ask them in one easy step.  After I received their info, I made a simple excel sheet to find out where there are holes and could easily follow up. As I’m working through this process right now, I thought I’d share the questions I ask.

Answer these 7 simple questions to begin your small group:

  1. Describe the group you’d like to start.
  2. What makes you interested in that?
  3. When would you like your group to meet? (Day of week/Time/How often)
  4. Any other group specific details? (Baby-sitting? Dnner?)
  5. Where would you like your group to meet? (Host home)
  6. Who could be your Assistnt Group Leader (Brainstorm)
  7. What would you like to call your group? (Our church names groups after movies.)

Download a printable version for free here–> Starting a Fuel Group

Download a version that’s easy to fill out over e-mail for free here–> Starting a Fuel online version

100m feature bugs bunny start

3 thoughts on “7 Simple Questions to Begin a Small Group (with free download)

  1. This for sharing, this is really helpful. I am in the beginning stages of planting a new church campus of The Rescue Church and small groups is one of the things we need to get into place as we get ready to launch.

    Do you have any advice on how to get Small Groups to be successful? We have tried many different ways and it seems that the small groups tend to fizzle out. What is the average length of each one of the small groups you oversee?

    • Thanks for your thoughts. When we started Velocity, we started small groups before we ever started our church. As we work with future church planters, we encourage them to start groups as soon as you can. At Velocity, the first group was led by the lead pastor. When it got large enough, we split off and I led the second group. For the first year, we allowed groups to grow and multiply. We’re slowly working towards starting a second campus also- and we’ll probably do the same thing to start off. That way, as the new group grows naturally, you won’t have to worry about artificial starts/stops. Every time a group starts/stops, there will be some people who “don’t get back on the train.” After a while, we moved on from the multiplying idea and went to a yearly rotation. http://refuelblog.com/2014/05/25/6-different-types-of-small-groups/ (Here’s an article I wrote on the different types of groups).

      What do you think causes people to fizzle out of group? Are you leading a group? I would say the lead pastor and most of the pastors should be leading a group- first and foremost- to help set the tone.

      We have a big Sunday every fall that focuses on group sign ups. It helps make it exciting and a fun “kick off” to groups. We usually have a sermon or two that focuses on groups and community every fall.

      Outside of those two things- it’s important to constantly build a leadership pipeline. Who’s training to lead next? Because groups are messy- there can be leadership turnover. We may have enough leaders now, but what happens when they all need to step down because of having a baby or changing jobs? (happens all the time at Velocity).

      Hope some of those ideas help. I’d be glad to talk more.

  2. I did want to mention- that we now do more semester or year-long based groups. I think it helps leaders to know there’s an end in sight and that they can take a break. I know that I, personally, like the break too.

Leave a Reply

